The Committee

Within the pack, Akela is a symbol of wisdom, authority, and leadership. Akela is anyone who acts as a leader to the Scout, and the Pack Leadership Committee is the Akela for the Pack. 

Every pack is under the supervision of a Pack Committee, which consists of at least three members (chair, secretary, and treasurer). By handling administrative and support tasks, the pack committee allows the Cubmaster, den leaders, and their assistants to focus on working directly with the Cub Scouts.

Although packs can and do operate with a minimum of three committee members, experience has shown that a larger committee generally ensures a stronger, more stable pack and is better able to perform all the required functions to ensure a successful pack program.

Qualifications: A Pack Committee member is at least 21 years old, is selected by the chartered organization and is registered as an adult leader of the BSA. One member is designated as pack committee chair.

A strong pack committee will have individual members assigned to such areas as:

  • Record keeping and correspondence
  • Finances, advancement
  • Training
  • Public relations
  • Membership and registration.

The pack committee chair decides how the responsibilities should be divided and gives committee members assignments.